681 stations to turn off analog broadcast on 2/17

tvsturnoffAs soon as Obama signs the DTV Delay Bill into law, the original DTV switch will become optional until June 12, but that isn’t stopping 681 television stations from making the switch. The FCC is stating that those stations make up 40% of the US’s total broadcasters which probably means a lot of markets will experience partial shut-offs. Hopefully this will get fat and lazy Americans (yeah, I said it) off their couches and down to the local electronic emporium to pick up a DTV box – if any are left.