Hands-Free Headsets Required for California Drivers by January 2008

Governor Arnold is set to sign a bill today to outlaw drivers from talking on cell phones in cars unless they are using a headset or some other hands-free device. The law goes into action January 1, 2008, and will cost drivers $20 for a first time fine and $50 thereafter.

Californians, you’ve got one year to get a phone that supports Bluetooth, get a headset, or get some kind of hands-free car adapter. Here are a couple to get you started.

Bill signing today to make drivers put down phones [Mercury News]